License Suspension/Revocation

  Nevada driving privileges/driver's licenses can be suspended or revoked for any of the following reasons:
  • You obtain a conviction in another state that would be grounds for suspension or revocation if the violation had happened in Nevada;
  • You fail to comply with a warrant or subpoena to establish paternity or child support;
  • You fail to pay your child support obligation;
  • Your military driving privilege was suspended on a basis that would cause Nevada to suspend or revoke your driver's license;
  • You were arrested or convicted of misdemeanor and/or felony DUI;
  • You failed to stop and render aid to someone who was hurt or killed involved in motor vehicle accident;
  • You lied under oath to the DMV;
  • You were convicted of manslaughter involving a vehicle;
  • You were convicted of 3 charges of reckless driving within a 12 month period;
  • You fail to complete a court-ordered alcohol and/or drug test within the time period ordered by a court;
  • You were ordered by the court to install an interlock device, but you drove without the device.
  • You are under 21 years old and you had an alcohol concentration of between .02 or more but less than .08 at the time of driving;
  • You allowed someone to fraudulently use your driver's license;
  • You are mentally or physically incompetent to drive a vehicle;
  • You receive a citation and fail to appear at the court date and time;
  • You fail to comply with the terms of your restricted license;
  • You accumulate 6 demerit points in a 12 month period;
  • You accumulate 12 demerit points during a 12 month period within 3 years;
  • You accumulate 12 demerit points within a 12 month period within 5 years; and/or
  • You accumulate 6 traffic offenses within 5 years if all 6 offenses are worth 4 or more demerit points.

Losing your driving privileges can be costly. In order to reinstate your license, the DMV may add fines, order you to pay for a complete driving classes, order you to retake your written and/or driving test; limit your driving to certain destinations; and/or order you to obtain a certificate of financial responsibility. In addition to the penalties issued by the DMV, driving while your license is suspended for certain crimes carries a 30 day to 6 month jail sentence.

If you are facing a license suspension/revocation or have already lost your privileges, you should contact us immediately. You may have the right to have a hearing to challenge the loss of your driver's license, present witnesses and evidence, and cross examine the State's witnesses. However, there are time limits in which you have to challenge your suspension. If you wait too long, you may lose your valuable rights. Call us now to discuss your case.







Video Center

Visit our personal injury website if you've been injured in an accident.

StatisticsReview of Mueller, Hinds, and Associates, Chtd